Chartered Professional Engineer (CPEng) – Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) (2011)

Honorary Senior Lecturer, Australian National University (ANU) (2018)

PhD in Physics, University of Queensland (2007)

  • Dean’s Commendation for Outstanding PhD – Awarded to best 10% of PhD theses
  • Studied the spectroscopy of melanin bio-pigment, of interest as a dye sensitizer for photovoltaics

Bachelor of Science in the field of Physics, University of Queensland (2003)

  • First Class Honours in Biophysics
  • University Medal – Awarded to the top 1% of bachelor degree graduates
  • Dean’s Commendation for High Achievement (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003)
  • Australian Institute of Physics Prize (2003) – Awarded to the student completing the BSc (Physics) with Honours who obtains the highest aggregate mark.

Other Significant Awards

  • AEMO Above and Beyond Award (2021) – In recognition of exceptional demonstration of excellence
  • Monash Engineering Women’s Leadership Award (2015)
  • Australian National Committee of CIGRE 2014 Young Engineer Scholarship Recipient (2014)
  • Centre for Sustainability Leadership Fellow (2013) – A fellowship training program to develop the skills, networks and knowledge needed to drive positive change in communities and workplaces.
  • Climate Commission Climate Fellow (2013) – A science communication fellowship for climate change and renewable energy researchers.
  • Queensland Young Achiever of the Year (2007) – Awarded to one Queenslander annually
  • Smart Women Smart State Award winner (2005)

Jennifer Riesz & Steve Ciobo MP227762_5313664179_739514179_154684_8124_n